MINUTES OF THE ICL AGM 2023

Held Monday 16th October 2023 at Wheathill Golf Club

PRESENT: Gin Stewart (Chairperson/Sec), Jill Bocquet (Div Rep) Wells, Sally Dymock (Results Coordinator) Judith Sperring (Div Rep) Enmore,

APOLOGIES: Sue Ackland (Mendip Spring), Yvette Gregg

WELCOME: The meeting started at 14.30. Gin Stewart welcomed all to the 2023 ICL AGM. She gave thanks to Wheathill Golf Club for hosting the day. She also thanked Sally Dymock for recording all the results and maintaining the website. Jim O'Connor was the website back up but is now retiring.

MINUTES OF PREVIOUS MEETING: The minutes of the meeting held on Monday, 3rd October 2022 were proposed as a true record by Ali Day (Mendip) and Pam Berry (Wedmore) and signed off by Gin Stewart.

MATTERS ARISING:

None

CHAIR/SEC REPORT:

RESULTS CO-ORDINATOR'S REPORT:

Madam Chairman, Ladies,

Another year of matches safely played and my work cut out by some tied results needing sorting by our agreed method in the rules. In Division 1, Isle of Wedmore and Taunton and Pickeridge tied with 41 points each. As T & P won more matches, they are the winners. Stockwood Vale are runaway winners in Division 2 with 45 points. However, 3 clubs tied at the bottom. Minehead remain in Division 2 having won and drawn more matches than Wheathill and Cricket St Thomas. In Division 3, Mendip Spring were the winners with 36 points.

Once again, you have been brilliant at letting me have the results in a timely manner – many thanks.

It is clear from the reports that the matches were played in excellent spirit as always with very variable weather conditions – goes with the territory when you live in the UK! 2024 offers different clubs to compete with and venues to go to – one of the joys of the Inter Club League.

Congratulations to those achieving promotion and commiserations to those dropping a division.

Let me finish by wishing you all another enjoyable year of golf in 2024 and I look forward to meeting up with lots of you again.

Sally Dymock 16th October 2023

PREDICTED INTERCLUB LEAGUE FINANCIAL REPORT FOR YEAR ENDING OCTOBER 2023

CREDIT

DEBIT

BALANCE CARRIED FORWARD FROM OCTOBER 2021

DOMAIN AND WEBSITE FEE

WINNERS PLAQUES AND ENGRAVING

17 CLUBS MEMBERSHIP @ £15

PRIZES FOR THE 9 HOLE COMPETITION

TOTALS

BALANCE

PROPOSALS

Proposal from Taunton & Pickeridge

It can be hugely frustrating when you have played a match against an opponent who's playing ability is not reflective of their handicap. England golf under the current handicap rules do not require anyone to have submitted a minimum number of card's, within the previous 12 months. Many clubs have now introduced requirements to submit a minimum number of qualifying handicap cards each year, but this is not universal.

In order to protect the integrity of the ICL League, we would like to propose that a rule is introduced that each player must have submitted a minimum of 5 (or a number to be agreed) cards in the previous 12 months prior to the date of the match to be played. The match captain will be responsible for checking if their players have submitted the minimum number of qualifying cards. Any person who is found to have played and won whilst not adhering to the rule should lose the individual game within that match.

After some discussion, the proposal was accepted.

AOB

Ali Kay wanted clarification on the hospitality limit. It was confirmed that the ICL does not have a limit.

The handicap limit and the number of silver v bronze players per team. It was agreed that the current rules work well.

Jill Bocquet (Wells) suggested that the match sheet did not need to be signed. It was agreed that those who wish to sign it are free to do so.

Election of 2023 Committee

Gin informed everyone present that she is retiring as Chairman/Secretary with immediate effect. The proposed committee for 2023/2024 is as follows:

Chair/Secretary Jill Bocquet (Wells)

Results Co-ordinator Sally Dymock (Enmore Park)

Div. 1 Rep Gin Stewart (Wheathill)

Div. 2 Rep TBA

Div. 3 Rep Judith Sperring (Enmore)

This was agreed unanimously.

PRIZE GIVING:

11 hole competition:

1st Liz How (Oake Manor)

2nd Philippa Owen (Wells) 3rd Hilary Coates (T & P)

Division Winners:

The winners' plaques were awarded to -

Div. 1 Taunton & Pickeridge - 41 points

Div. 2 Stockwood Vale - 45 points

Div. 3 Mendip Spring - 36 points

The meeting closed atGin wished all a safe journey home and best wishes for our 2024 season.

2024 ICL AGM - tba

LEAGUE FORMATION FOR 2024

DIVISION 1

BATH
FARRINGTON
ISLE OF WEDMORE
LONG SUTTON
STOCKWOOD VALE
TAUNTON AND PICKERIDGE

DIVISION 2

MENDIP SPRING MINEHEAD

ORCHARDLEIGH TALL PINES WELLS WORLEBURY

DIVISION 3

CRICKET ST THOMAS ENMORE OAKE MANOR THE MENDIP WHEATHILL

Date.....

Gin Stewart

